• NZ Booklovers

Where's Kiwi Celebrating? by Myles Lawford


Kiwi is a party animal and he wants to celebrate. There are parades and festivals to join, friends to find and adventures to be had. Spot Kiwi as he parties at the Beach Hop, floats lanterns at Chinese New Year, hunts for Easter eggs, flies kites at Matariki, rides a Santa Parade float, and much more.

Perfect for fans of Where's Wally style books, this Kiwi version is distinctively Aotearoa.


Illustrated by Myles Lawford, Kiwi and his friends are placed in colourful scenes bursting with diversity.

Kiwi takes part in numerous celebrations throughout the year. A short and simple paragraph introduces readers to the scene, highlighting some of the traditions behind it.


It was lovely to see a wide range of celebrations too - Earth Day, Pasifika, the Beach Hop, Diwali, and Field Days all feature. There won't be a child who can't picture themselves in at least one scene.


Pages simply burst with colour and the people illustrated are diverse in ethnicity, age, and shape.


The end pages are simply beautiful, and with more than 800 things to spot between the covers, it will keep you busy.


Lawford has nailed the difficulty level in this book - Kiwi and his friends are not always the easiest to spot.


Where's Kiwi Celebrating makes for a wonderful read for the whole family, a bit of a challenge and fun for any age.


Reviewer: Rebekah Fraser

Scholastic New Zealand

© 2018 NZ Booklovers. Proudly created with Wix.com