top of page
  • Writer's pictureNZ Booklovers

2019 Wallace Foundation Short Fiction Contest Entries close 31 March 2019

There’s only a few weeks to submit entries for this year’s Wallace Foundation Short Fiction Contest.

The prize money has been increased this year: a first prize of $1000 is offered for the winning story, $500 for the runner-up and $500 for the best entry by a promising young writer under 25.

• Stories must be original, unpublished works of fiction and may be on any theme

• The word limit is 2000 words

• Entries must be submitted by 31 March 2019

• Judges are experienced writers Brendan Weir and Paula Boock

• Winners will be announced in May during the Auckland Writers’ Festival

Previous winners include

• Tulia Thompson (2018)

• Ruby Porter (2017)

• Gina Cole (2016)

Competition Rules:

1. Stories must be your own work, and not previously published.

2. Stories must be original works of fiction.

3. All stories should have relevance to the broader New Zealand LGBTQI (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, intersex) community.

4. Stories should be at least 1200 words in length but must not exceed 2000 words.

Any entry over this limit will be disallowed automatically. Please include your word count at the end of your story.

5. Stories must be emailed as attachments in Word to:

6. All stories must be received by midnight on 31 March 2019. Late entries will not be accepted.

7. Be sure to include your full name, email address and contact phone number in your submission email.

8. Please state in your covering email if you are entering your story in the promising young writer category. If you are, please confirm that you are aged under 25. You will still be eligible to win the Wallace Foundation Short Fiction Contest.

9. Your name must not appear in headers or footers or anywhere in your story – our judges read all stories in blissful ignorance of the writer’s identity.

10. Please give your work a name. This helps us identify each piece.

11. If you submit a story to the competition, you are also giving us permission to publish it, which may be online or in a printed publication.

12. The winner may be invited to read their work at our winner’s event.

13. You may submit more than one story.

14. We only accept stories from writers resident or normally resident in New Zealand.

We appreciate the support we have received from the Auckland Writers Festival.

For more information on samesame but different, please go to:

And the link to the competition is here:


bottom of page