top of page
  • Writer's pictureNZ Booklovers

Sunday Star-Times Short Story Awards are now open

Star-Times editor Tracy Watkins says the awards provide the ideal opportunity for budding authors to write their futures. Past winners include Eleanor Catton, Kirsten McDougall, and Carl Nixon.

“With the biggest prize pool ever, and our fantastic judges now locked in, we’re expecting to see an impressive number of entries for this year’s competition,” she said.

This year’s prize money has grown to a pool of $13,000, with the open category seeing a boost to $8500 for the winner. The remaining categories have prizes of $1500 each, with the best emerging Māori and Pasifika writers also eligible to win the top prize, which would mean a total prize of $10,000.

As well as the prize money, winners are given valuable feedback on their writing.

Read the full article here:


bottom of page