top of page
  • Writer's pictureNZ Booklovers

Elastic Island Adventures: Rainbow Cove by Karen McMillan

Updated: Nov 14, 2019

Rainbow Cove is the third in Karen McMillan’s bestselling series for children my age. Four children from New Zealand discover an ‘elastic’ island that sends them pinging across the ocean to a variety of destinations – so in each book they have a different adventure before returning home.

In Rainbow Cove the children discover creatures called frivals who are responsible for maintaining the colours of the island. But the frivals have gone on strike after the local people didn’t like them changing all the colours around – and now the island is slowly fading to grey. Because of this the chameleons are in danger of dying, so the children set out to find the frivals missing leader in the hope of saving them. But will they succeed before it is too late? You are going to have to read the book to find out!

The Elastic Island Adventures series is a lot of fun, and it’s a series that appeals to both boys and girls, and it’s great for readers seven and up. Each story is really exciting, and I love that you go to all these great destinations in the South Pacific, and you get to meet lots of different creatures and characters. I can’t wait for the next instalment that will be out next April!

Reviewer: Milla McKenzie Brown

Published by Duckling Publishing


bottom of page