BNZ Literary Awards now open for entries

BNZ is putting out the call for New Zealand’s best published, novice, student and short story writers, as the BNZ Literary Awards entries open for 2014.

With a 56 year history and a $10,000 grand prize, the country’s preeminent short story awards continue to boom. 2013 was the most successful year in the award’s history with a 20% increase in entries across all four categories from the previous year.

Prizes for each category are:

  • BNZ Katherine Mansfield Award – $10,000 prize money
  • BNZ Novice Writer Award- for unpublished writers – $1,500 prize money
  • BNZ Young Writer Award – for writers who are at secondary school – $1,500 for the student and $2000 for the winner’s school.
  • BNZ Short Short Story Award – $500 prize money

Entries are now open and close June 30 2014. Applicants can enter the three main categories via BNZ’s website. Entries for the Short Short story can enter via the bank’s facebook page.

The winners will be announced later this year in September in an awards ceremony in Wellington.

0 comments… add one

Leave a Comment