The Bane Chronicles, by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan & Maureen Johnson

Fans of Cassandra Clare’s The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices series are in safe hands with The Bane Chronicles, a set of short stories about fan-favourite character, warlock Magnus Bane. Clare’s unique voice that she has crafted through the other nine books set in the same world is as strong as ever (despite the stories being written with Rees Brennan and Johnson), and Magnus is as likeable a character as he is in the other books.

I actually read some of the stories as ebooks before I got the full title, but it was well worth picking up the book to get the rest of the stories. Funny at times, touching at others, The Bane Chronicles details the life of a man who might be immortal, but lives each day as if it were his last.

Since the entire book is told from Magnus’ third person POV,  it is an interesting change to get everything from the opinion of a Downworlder, particularly since most of the other titles are from a Shadowhunter perspective. The Shadowhunters do make an appearance though, and some of the characters we know and love get little cameos (my favourite moment in the book is when Magnus sees Will (who is middle-aged) and Tessa again), and we learn a lot more about Alec and Magus’ relationship.

While the book suffers a little from the choppiness of being a short story compilation, there is an overall arc to Magnus’ adventures, and it is best read from beginning to end. The Bane Chronicles is really for fans of the initial two series, and sadly there probably isn’t a huge amount it could offer those who haven’t read the others books. Clare already has a huge following however, so I have no doubt that The Bane Chronicles will be popular regardless, and hopefully help her find new fans of the Shadowhunter world.

 

0 comments… add one

JJ is a writer by night, & a Product Manager by day. She loves young adult and children’s fiction and is the director of NZ Booklovers. She has a Masters in Creative Writing, and is an ex-English tutor. She lives in Auckland with her husband, daughter, and two chihuahuas.

Leave a Comment